Media Releases

Back to Newsroom

Doctors of the Year

(From left) Drs. Roy Curtis Mullins, Gautam Dehadrai, and James B. Silman were honored at the 2011 Medical Staff Holiday Party.

Three physicians were recently honored with awards for their expert work with patients and dedication to the community over the past year. Drs. James B. Silman, Roy Curtis Mullins and Gautam Dehadrai were recognized for their achievements at Norman Regional’s annual medical staff holiday party on Thursday, Dec. 8.

Outstanding Physician, NRHS Employees' Choice
We asked you, the NRHS employees, to vote for the doctor you considered the Health System’s most outstanding physician. The Outstanding Physician award is given to the doctor employees feel personifies three traits: compassionate care of patients, building of collegial relationships and the pursuit of professional excellence. You chose radiologist Gautam Dehadrai, MD. Dr. Dehadrai is a committed and passionate member of our team. To be given this award from our employees shows the respect they have for him. Not only for the quality care he gives our patients, but for the partnership and leadership he shares with the team around him. Dr. Dehadrai is a board-certified radiologist and has served as Chairman of the Radiology at Norman Regional Hospital and Moore Medical Center. He completed an interventional radiology fellowship at the University of New Mexico College of Medicine.

Physician Peer Award
Dr. Roy Curtis Mullins won the Physician Peer Award. Each year Norman Regional physicians vote for one of their colleagues to receive this honor. A vote of confidence from your peers is perhaps one of the best rewards a physician can receive. Mullins is board certified in Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine. He is part of the Intensivist program team caring for critical care patients at Norman Regional Hospital and the HealthPlex. Mullins graduated and completed his residency at University of Texas Health Science Center.

Harold R. Belknap Heart of Gold Award
Dr. James B. Silman was this year’s recipient of the Harold R. Belknap Heart of Gold Award for service to the community. The award is presented to a physician who: promotes a sense of community pride and continuity, dedicates a significant time to the development of the next generation of leaders and healthcare providers, and exemplifies a volunteer spirit by offering their services to individuals and groups in need. This award is named after Dr. Harold Belknap, a physician and community leader. Dr. Silman has been serving Norman residents for many years. Over time he has touched the lives of many in our community. He continues to give of his time generously and remains dedicated to helping improve the wellness of our community. Dr. Silman, who specializes in internal medicine, currently serves as the Medical Director for Health Promotion. He is also the Medical Director of Cleveland and McClain County Health Departments.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees of the physician awards. Your work makes a difference.

Back to Newsroom

Filter Your Results

Twitter Feed follow Norman!

For More Information

Contact Kelly Wells
Norman Regional Health System

Office (405) 307.2143
Fax (405) 307.2144