Thursday, December 3, 2015

Nurses of the Year 2015 
Norman Regional’s nurse of the year nominees include (from left to right) Back Row: Michael Fusselman, Ronnie Gordon, Lee Sykes. Front Row: Amber Browning, Amy Wooley, Jessica Macias, Anissa Gilleland, and Tracy Ratzlaff.

NORMAN - Each year, the Physician Focus Group and Norman Regional Health Foundation provide an award for the exceptional care that was provided over the past year by Norman Regional’s nursing staff.

"Nurses are the front line of the healthcare system. It is an honor to recognize their exceptional nursing skills and to also show appreciation for their hard work," Dr. Lana Nelson, surgeon at Norman Regional Health System.

Each year, eight deserving nurses from the Health System are selected by the Physician Focus Group to be in the final voting for Nurse of the Year.

This year's winner was Michael Fusselman, RN, who works in the Emergency Department at Norman Regional Hospital. The runner up was Anissa Gilleland, RN, who works in the Post Critical Care Unit at the HealthPlex.

This year's nominees were:

  • Amber Browning, Porter, Health Promotion
  • Ronnie Gordon, Porter, Emergency Department
  • Jessica Macias, HealthPlex, Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit
  • Tracy Ratzlaff, HealthPlex, Women’s Surgery
  • ee Sykes, HealthPlex, Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit
  • Amy Wooley, Porter 4 North

Prize money was also awarded to the nominees, runner-up and winner.