Media Releases

Back to Newsroom

Doctors of the Year

(From left) Drs. James McCurdy, Sherri Durica, and Thomas Whalen were honored at the 2010 Medical Staff Holiday Party.

Three physicians were honored with awards by Norman Regional Health System. Drs. Thomas Whalen, James R. McCurdy and Sherri Durica were recognized for their achievements at Norman Regional’s annual medical staff holiday party on Thursday, Dec. 9.

Dr. Thomas Whalen was chosen as the 2010 Outstanding Physician by Norman Regional employees. Each year Health System staff vote for the doctor they feel personifies three traits: compassionate care of patients, building of collegial relationships and the pursuit of professional excellence.

“Dr. Whalen works closely with our employees each and every day as a hospitalist,” said David Whitaker, president and CEO of Norman Regional Health System. “Having the respect of our staff is a great honor and one that Dr. Whalen earns every day with his expert treatment and compassionate care of our patients.”

Dr. Whalen is currently the Health System’s Chief of Staff Elect and was the chair of the Hospital Medicine Department. He graduated from medical school at the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. He completed his residency at Tulsa Regional Medical Center.

Dr. James R. McCurdy won the Physician Peer Award. Each year Norman Regional physicians vote for one of their colleagues to receive this honor. “A vote of confidence from your peers is perhaps one of the best rewards a physician can receive,” Whitaker said.

Dr. McCurdy has served the Norman community for more than 30 years as a thoracic, vascular and general surgeon. He is currently the chair of the Surgery Department and in 1995 was Chief of Staff. He attended medical school at the University Of Oklahoma College Of Medicine and later completed his residence at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center’s Department of Surgery.

Dr. Sherri Durica was this year’s recipient of the Harold R. Belknap Heart of Gold Award for service to the community. The award is presented to a physician who: promotes a sense of community pride and continuity, dedicates a significant time to the development of the next generation of leaders and healthcare providers, and exemplifies a volunteer spirit by offering their services to individuals and groups in need. This award is named after Dr. Harold Belknap, a physician and community leader.

“Dr. Durcia has been very active in promoting youth in the Norman Community. She volunteers her time to go above and beyond for Boy Scout Troop 777,” said Dr. Brian Yeaman, a friend and colleague of the late Dr. Belknap.

Back to Newsroom

Filter Your Results

Twitter Feed follow Norman!

For More Information

Contact Kelly Wells
Norman Regional Health System

Office (405) 307.2143
Fax (405) 307.2144