Norman Regional Health System

Wednesday, January 24, 2024

Norman Regional Health System honored multiple providers and nurses for their commitment to patients and the community at the 2023 Norman Regional Health System Physician, Provider and Nurse of the Year Awards.

Norman Regional announced the 2023 award winners for the Kyle Toal, MD Physician Peer Award; Outstanding Physician of the Year; Hal Belknap, MD Heart of Gold Community Award; Advanced Practice Provider of the Year, and Nurse of the Year.

The winners are:

Kyle Toal, MD Physician Peer Award

Norman Regional renamed the Physician Peer Award this year in honor of cardiothoracic surgeon Kyle Toal, MD who passed away in 2023. Physicians voted for Joe Voto, MD, anesthesiologist, for The 2023 Physician Peer Award. Dr. Voto graduated from medical school and completed his residency at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine. He also served as Norman Regional’s Chief of Staff in 2023.

Joe Voto, MD - Kyle Toal Physican Peer Award.jpg (538 KB)

“This means the world to me,” Dr. Voto said. “I’m so happy to be a part of this organization.”

Outstanding Physician of the Year

One physician is named the Outstanding Physician of the Year after being chosen by Norman Regional employees, whom the organization calls healers. All healers were given the opportunity to vote for one physician they thought best personified three traits: compassionate care of patients, the building of collegial relationships and the pursuit of professional excellence.

Colleen Del Valle, DO, was chosen as this year’s Outstanding Physician of the Year. She is a board-certified family medicine physician at Norman Regional’s Primary Care – Moore clinic. She attended medical school at the University of North Texas Health Science Center and completed her residency training with the University of Texas Southwestern Family and Community Residency Program.

Colleen Del Valle, DO - Outstanding Physician of the Year.jpg (585 KB)

Dr. Del Valle grew up in rural Minnesota and developed close relationships with the family medicine physicians there, which sparked her interest in primary care.

“I love the opportunity to care for patients at all stages of life,” said Dr. Del Valle. “Family medicine provides me with the chance to treat acute and chronic conditions, and build meaningful connections.”

Dr. Hal Belknap Heart of Gold Award

Each year, one physician is given the Hal Belknap Heart of Gold Award, which honors a physician for his or her service to the community. Dr. Hal Belknap was on the Medical Staff at Norman Regional from 1967 until his passing in 2008. He made remarkable contributions both locally and globally, ranging from supporting a Boy Scout troop in Norman to founding a health clinic in Africa.

The 2023 Dr. Hal Belknap Heart of Gold Award was given to Cuong Nguyen, MD, a nephrologist practicing with Norman Regional’s Nephrology Associates. Dr. Nguyen has worked at the Health System for a decade and remarked that, “It has been a wonderful ten years and I’m grateful for the wonderful staff.”

Cuong Nguyen, MD - Dr. Hal Belknap Heart of Gold Award.jpg (550 KB)

Dr. Nguyen attended medical school at Ross University and completed his residency at the University of Southern California.

Advanced Practice Provider of the Year

Kimberly Franks-Martens, APRN, won the Advanced Practice Provider of the Year award for 2023!

Kim is a certified Family Nurse Practitioner, assisting surgeon John Chace, MD in their clinic, Oklahoma Surgical Associates, and in the operating room.

Kimberly Franks-Martens, APRN - Advanced Practice Provider of the Year.jpg (558 KB)

She graduated from Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, Texas with a post-master’s degree in 2009. Kim obtained her master’s in 2003 from the University of Oklahoma as a Clinical Nurse Specialist.

Nurse of the Year

Each year, physicians and Norman Regional Health Foundation provide an award for the exceptional care that was provided over the past year by Norman Regional’s nursing staff. Four nurses are nominated and one is declared the Nurse of the Year.

Megan Mason, RN, Emergency Department, is this year’s Nurse of the Year!

Megan Mason, RN - Nurse of the Year 1.jpg (493 KB)

She has worked at Norman Regional since August 2015. Physicians say she is extremely trustworthy and provides excellent care to her patients.

The runner-up for Nurse of the Year was Sierrah Parduhn, RN, Intensive Care Unit.

Sierrah Parduhn, RN - Nurse of the Year Runner-Up.jpg (493 KB)

Parduhn has worked at Norman Regional since June 2018. Her nominators said she, “brings a light to bedside nursing.”

The two other nominees for Nurse of the Year were Lynn Mayes, RN, Critical Care Coordination, and Seth Winters, RN, Rehabilitation.

Lynn Mayes, RN and Seth Winters, RN Nurse of the Year Nominees.jpg (397 KB)

Thank you to all the Norman Regional Healers who tirelessly dedicate themselves to the well-being of our community.

Your unwavering commitment to providing compassionate care and healing touches the lives of countless individuals every day.